Differentiate Yourself Educate!

Start earning one of the 16 professional certifications offered by the ACF

Look For Date to our Food Show!

Please support our sponser partnerships!  Check back for date to there food shows!

Need Help Effected by Covid Clousure

Our local restaurant industry has been one of the hardest hit financially from the COVID-19 pandemic. Please help our struggling Detroit area restaurant industry.  

Scholarship & Grants

FOR STUDENTS: Leopold Schaeli Award and Leon Korstjens Award

Amount: $1000 each

Availability: The Leon Korstjens Award is available in Spring 2019, and the Leopold Schaeli Award is available in Fall 2019.

Applications Available: Applications will be available for the Leon Korstjens Award on February 1st, 2019.

Deadline for Application: The deadlines for receipt of applications are May 1st, 2019 for the Leon Korstjens Award, and November 1st, 2019 for the Leopold Schaeli Award.

These two $1000 scholarships are awarded to students each year through the Michigan Chefs de Cuisine Educational Institute (MCCEI). They may be awarded on the basis of merit to deserving individuals who meet Michigan residence requirements. The scholarships will be limited to Hospitality and Culinary Arts training in a post-secondary Michigan school. Such scholarships must be applied for through the Michigan Chefs de Cuisine Association. Previous recipients may reapply for additional scholarships.

Please complete the online application, and contact Chef Kevin Brennan with questions.

FOR PROFESSIONALS: Kevin Enright Continuing Education Grant

Amount: $500

Availability: Fall 2019

Applications Available: February 1, 2019

Deadline for Application: November 1st, 2019.

Each year, the MCCA will offer a $500 award to worthy MCCA professionals for the purpose of their continued education.

  • The award is open to Active, Allied and Associate Members of the MCCA in good standing for at least one year.
  • Candidates must be active in the MCCA attending at least five (5) meetings out of the nine (9) monthly meetings per year.
  • Awards are given each fall and spring.
  • The award may be received only once in a three-year period.
  • The educational program can take place anywhere in the world, but must be of a culinary nature.
  • The application, copy of your ACF membership card, cost of educational program, and proof of payment should be submitted with the application form and written explanation of “How this activity benefits my career in the culinary arts.”
  • All accepted entries will be assigned a number and placed into a hat for a random drawing.
  • A check from the MCCEI will be written to reimburse the winner of the drawing upon receiving an article for the MCCA website or newsletter, to share the learning experience with your fellow members.

Please complete the online application, and contact Chef Kevin Brennan with questions.

FOR PROFESSIONALS: Tobin Looman Foundation Scholarships

Amount: $2000 (2)

Deadline for Application: November 7, 2019

The Tobin Looman Foundation (a non-profit group associated with StoryPoint), has created two (2) $2000.00 scholarships to be awarded to two professional MCCA members in 2019.

The Tobin Looman Foundation was created to honor the legacy of the late Toby Looman, Executive Chef and MCCA member, who passed away unexpectedly this year. Chef Toby was an advocate and supporter of continuing education for culinary professionals, and these scholarships are intended to offer opportunitites to those who might not otherwise be able to take advantage of travel classes or regional/national conventions.

These scholarships are offered with the following criteria:

  • Applicant must be a professional member in good standing of the MCCA.
  • Applicant must use the funds to pay for a class or conference that awards college credit or continuing education points toward ACF certification or recertification.
  • Applicant must provide a letter requesting consideration for the scholarship listing the proposed class or conference, estimated cost, and a brief description of how the class or conference will further their career.
  • Awards will be announced by the end of November 2019.


The American Academy of Chefs (AAC), the honor society of the American Culinary Federation (ACF), offers educational scholarships to high school students, college students, professional chefs looking to further their education or become certified and student culinary teams currently competing at ACF Regional and National conferences.

FOR STUDENTS & PROFESSIONALS: James Beard Foundation Scholarship Program

James Beard is fondly remembered by friends and colleagues as a man who offered unstinting help and encouragement to people embarking on a culinary career. Upholding Beard’s legacy of culinary education and support through our scholarship program is an essential component of the James Beard Foundation’s mission. The JBF National Scholars, The Friends of James Beard Foundation Scholarships and the James Beard Foundation School Scholarships have been established to assist aspiring food study professionals who plan to further their education at a licensed or accredited school. Professional grants are also available for independent work, study and travel.